News from our Writing Alumni: Jessica Tirshman

October 9, 2010

Alumni, Community, Writing

What year did you graduate?

2008

How many years were you at LFAS?

Eleven years. I started at LFAS in grade 2

What have you done since graduating from LFAS?

Not a whole lot; for the past 3 years since graduating I’ve basically been a full time couch potatoe but I had my reasons, since Cystic Fibrosis took most of my energy and time to deal with. I finally won that battle and now with my new lungs I can do whatever I want. I started with registering for a math 12 class… because I need it for college. (My highest math was Math Essentials 11 which doesn’t count for crud for the courses I want to take, lol).

What is your favorite memory of LFAS?

Lunch times and spares because those were the times I got to spend with friends and they are the strongest memories of school I have. But of course, the writing room will always be close to my heart as well as Mr. Bryson’s crazy antics, Comparative Civ class, drama shows, writing “field trips,” killing pomagranetes, and so much more. I can’t really pick a favorite.

Looking back at your experience at LFAS, would you have done anything differently?

Yes, I would have worked a little harder on my school work, and I should have voiced my concern for my learning disability, (mildly dyslexic – words get lost in translation between my mind and my hands. And of course, OCD). If I would have pushed harder for the disabilitiess to be recognized, I might have had an easier time in class and doing homework. However, the school board didn’t test me until half way through grade 12 and by then it was kind of too late.

What surprised you the most about life after graduating from LFAS?

Nothing. It was basically the same but without the routine of going to school. At first it was wonderful, sleeping in, staying up late, but after a while it got lonely because my friends went straight to university and had jobs as well so I never really got time to spend with them. Of course, now I see things differently.

What has been your proudest moment since graduating from LFAS?

Calling to book an appointment with the education advisor at the college I want to attend. It was the first step towards my goals. (That appointment, by the way,  is at North Island College).

What advice do you have for current students of LFAS?

Work hard, even if you don’t have a post-secondary plan. It will reward you down the road. Make all the friends you can and keep in touch. Most of all, if going to LFAS should have taught you anything at all, it should be: that you can be whatever/whomever you want. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Be tolerant of others and always voice your opinion.

, , , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

