News from our Writing Alumni: Kevin Hill

September 4, 2011

Alumni, Breaking News, Community, Writing

What year did you graduate?
I graduated in 2007, the last year we saw Bob Barker on the Price is Right.

What was your major?

I was a music major (trombone, guitar) right up to Grade 10 and made the switch to Creative Writing for Grade 11 and 12.

How many years were you at LFAS?

I was an attendee at Langley Fine Arts for 5 years, Grade 8 – 12.

What have you done since graduating from LFAS?

Since graduating from high school I have obtained a degree in Audio Engineering from the Pacific Audio/Visual Institute, expanded my musical ability to playing the bass, piano and vocals, and have taken a particular interest in cooking. I currently utilize the skills in these interests as a musician and an aspiring chef.

What is your favourite memory of LFAS? (You can include more than one)

This is a terribly difficult question because it’s hard to pinpoint just one memory. Langley Fine Arts is where I met my girlfriend of 6 years, began writing music, and made some of my truest friends. My experiences in school ranged from the horribly atrocious to the unbelievably amazing. I think I have to go with the time my friend Lukasz brought to school a miniature slot machine that zapped you when you pulled the lever. During science class, Lukasz convinced a few people to give it a try and they invariably got a shock. Mr. Ames decided to investigate and upon inspection of the toy wound up shocking himself; unimpressed, he decided to permanently confiscate it. There it sat on his podium all class, taunting us with the hilarity we were missing out on. When class ended, I decided it would be worth attempting to retrieve it, so as he was talking with students after class I walked around behind him and braced myself. As quietly and subtly as I could, I reached around his rib cage and grabbed the slot machine off of the podium, right in front of his and my classmates eyes. I waited: no response! So I quickly withdrew my hand and bolted from the classroom, chuckling the whole way. Mr. Ames undoubtedly would have thought this quite maniacal until he realized that the toy was gone, ours to enjoy for the rest of the day. I know what you’re thinking: yes, I’m a ninja.

Looking back at your experience at LFAS, would you have done anything differently?

I know they say hindsight is 20/20, but I wouldn’t be who I am now if things had played out differently. So no. Well, maybe we should have been more discreet with the slot machine. But then what story would I have told you?

What surprised you the most about life after graduating from LFAS?

What didn’t surprise me? Life is, in and of itself, SUPPOSED to be full of twists and turns and surprises. What’s surprising me most though, to address the question directly, is how very much an uphill battle it is to get from the bottom of the theoretical food chain to some degree of success. I know that I’m in both the music and the food industry, which are both hard fields to excel in, but this particular train of thought seems to be a unanimous one, no matter who I talk to about it and what field they are in. Invest in your education, kids, it’s the only way to get by aside from getting very, very lucky.

What has been your proudest moment since graduating from LFAS?

Probably playing a two hour long benefit concert to raise money for Camp Kerry, a group that helps kids cope with the loss of their parents.  We raised over $5000 by the time we were done. I don’t often reserve much pride for myself, but knowing that I was helping others with something I excel at was definitely a moment that was absolutely filled with it.

What advice do you have for current students of LFAS?

I will say it again, invest in your future! If you have an interest, pursue it to the utmost of your ability. If you can pursue it in school or extracurricularly, then do so. And (not to fuel an old cliche) don’t give up on your dreams, even if they seem unobtainable. Our aspirations are what make us who we are, as individually as our blood type or eye colour. To squander them is to give up on yourself, and nobody should ever give up on who they are.

, , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

