News from our Drama Alumni: Jessica Bryson

November 13, 2011

Alumni, Community, Drama

What year did you graduate?

2004

What was your major?

Drama

How many years were you at LFAS?

12 years

What have you done since graduating from LFAS?

Since graduating high school, I moved to Vancouver and attended UBC. I went on an exchange to the UK, and traveled Europe with my best friend (LFAS grad Lara Lum). I graduated from UBC in 2009 with a degree in theatre and history. My career focus has been acting/comedy, specializing in improvised theatre. I have trained in LA at Upright Citizen’s Brigade and was a mainstage performer at Vancouver Theatresports League. I now live in Toronto and have just completed Second City’s conservatory program. I now have an agent and perform with several Toronto based improv companies.

What is your favorite memory of LFAS?

I have a lot of great memories of my time at Langley Fine Arts. There were those big ones, like going on school trips to Banff/Toronto/London, or landing the roll of “Puck” in Midsummer’s Night Dream. But, when I think back, I really just remember the fun of hanging out in the hall before and after class, goofing off with my friends, or going into town and getting slurpies, singing and dancing and making people laugh. It’s in those small moments of fun and silliness, that were judgement free, when I felt really lucky to have gone to LFAS. 

Looking back at your experience at LFAS, would you have done anything differently?

I don’t regret anything. All those dramatic moments that seem to matter SO much when you’re 16 really don’t mean anything when you’re 25. Um, maybe I would have paid better attention in French? I wouldn’t mind being bilingual.

What surprised you the most about life after graduating from LFAS?

The biggest surprise: high school and real life are NOT the same thing! No one in University or in your career cares if you were a nerd, or popular, or a dance/drama/music/art/writing major, or that your dad was your teacher!!! You will be whatever adult you want to be and that’s pretty great!

What has been your proudest moment since graduating from LFAS?

I’ve done a lot that I’m proud of; the big two are 1) living in England and traveling with my bff, without any knowledge of where we were going, how were going to get there, and on a very minimal budget, and more recently, 2) moving to Toronto- it’s extremely scary to start over, but I had to follow my dreams and they took me here.

What advice do you have for current students of LFAS?

Advice: travel, go to university (do it when you’re young- it’s a lot easier! and more fun), move out of your parents house, don’t be scared of success or failure- both are good for you, when you make a mistake- learn from it or you will repeat it, and do NOT ever get stuck in a phase of life. When high school ends, it’s over, move on, because it will never come back and you don’t want to be that sad twenty something hanging out at high school parties!

, , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

