News from our Visual Arts Alumni: Adam Proust


What year did you graduate?
I graduated in 2004

What was your major?
Visual Arts

How many years were you at LFAS?
Since grade 4

What have you done since graduating from LFAS?
Traveling and living overseas – although I’ve been back in Vancouver almost four years now.  The last few years I have been working on turning my art into a professional career. The artist path has been a gradual process but I am starting to see results, which is good.

What is your favourite memory of LFAS?
High school happened so long ago that most of it seems like a blur when I look back. I don’t remember anything bad about my time at LFAS, so I guess that’s a good thing too.

Looking back at your experience at LFAS, would you have done anything differently?
Not really. School was easy for me and it always just existed as something I had to do to move forward.

What surprised you the most about life after graduating from LFAS?
How little your teachers prepare you for things. I don’t really feel that the staff contributed much in the way of real world advice, other than just what post-secondary institutions to apply for. I guess that’s good if you’re only planning on going straight into university. However, there is very little preparation for life outside of an academic setting.

What has been your proudest moment since graduating from LFAS?
Seeing my achievements as an independent artist. I decided to forgo much in the way of post-secondary schooling to focus on doing something creative that I feel passionate about. I am gaining a good following as an artist. I run my own website.  I’ve exhibited around Vancouver and I’ve just started an exciting expansion into Street Art. To see what I’ve accomplished on my own without adhering to the high school-college-university route is an example to all that there is much more to life outside formal schooling.

What advice do you have for current students of LFAS?
Don’t let anyone tell you what you can and cannot do. Carve your own path.

, , , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

