News from our Visual Arts alumni: Lauren Carr

May 2, 2012

Alumni, Arts, Community, Visual Art

What year did you graduate?

I graduated in 2009.

What was your major?

Visual Arts

How many years were you at LFAS?

3 years.

What have you done since graduating from LFAS?

I am currently attending Emily Carr University of Art and Design.

What is your favorite memory of LFAS?

Our grade 12 grad show; I felt like I had a major epiphany in my final term, and was able to develop artistically in ways I didn’t expect.

Looking back at your experience at LFAS, would you have done anything differently?

I would have liked to have taken a couple different courses than I did, and used my teachers more as great resources to influence my art.

What surprised you the most about life after graduating from LFAS?

Originally I thought when I entered ECUAD I would become a painting or drawing major, but my interest was sparked when I started taking illustration courses, and I’ve been concentrating on illustration ever since.

What has been your proudest moment since graduating from LFAS?

Being accepted into ECUAD, and whenever I produce a piece of art that changes my thinking and my ways of working with media. Every time I achieve something new and different I get inspired all over again.

What advice do you have for current students of LFAS?

Try different things, especially after you graduate. Don’t close yourself off to other concentrations or majors. Be open and talk to people about what they’re doing because you never know your opportunities until you’ve had the chance to explore. Another big one is a support system. I wouldn’t be where I am today without my family, teachers, and friends to help and guide me. You will truly need those people in your life. Lastly, don’t get discouraged – make art, dance, sing, take photographs, write, preform, and play music every day. ┬áDon’t let any kind of rejection sway your path if you are doing something that is important to you.

, ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

