A Final Note from the Chief Editor, Ashley Fraser

September 5, 2013

Alumni, Breaking News

IMG_1811

Ashley Fraser – Chief Editor 2012-2013

As the summer break of 2013 has come to an end,  Ashley Fraser reflects on her year as Chief Editor of Blue Dog Press and her hopes for the future Blue Dog Press Team:

Crazy, I thought. How could I become Chief Editor of this newspaper?  I don’t really know how it happened, but I am so pleased that I have been a part of this incredible newspaper over the last year and a half.

Towards the end of grade 11 I learned the ropes of Blue Dog Press and knew that it was the perfect way of publishing all of the wonderful moments going on at LFAS and in the Langley community.

When I took on the role of Chief Editor at the beginning of grade 12, trying to fill some very large shoes left by Grace Kennedy, I knew it was going to be hard; I was already in over my head with just about every club and extra curricular activity at the school, but I was up for the challenge. I was so pleased that many students from grade 10 and 11 wanted to be a part of the team and even a grade 8 student joined despite not receiving any marks for the class.

I’ll admit, at the beginning of the year I didn’t really know what I was doing, I didn’t know what direction I wanted to take with the newspaper. All I knew is that I loved the idea proposed by Ms Knittel, that the newspaper provided an ongoing way to document life at LFAS. It reminded me of a team I had been part of for many years, the yearbook.

There’s something that fascinates everyone about a yearbook and I realized that Blue Dog Press was a “live action yearbook” for every student to learn about one another and be a part of. I could see that there were so many things going on in the school that other students missed, or moments that weren’t given much attention, and I made it my mission to ensure these events were covered. Ultimately, I hoped that Blue Dog Press could make the school a little more connected to the outside world.

As months went by, Blue Dog members began to sign up to cover events, giving up their spares and free time to write stories, take pictures, and create movies for Blue Dog Press. And as dedication grew, it was time to get creative.

Elaine Lee and Rebecca Lee, Grads of 2013 and our movie leaders of the year, sparked this creativity when they began taking videos of students dancing to the popular hit song by Psy, Gangnam Style. The project became a long term one and needless to say the most successful post on Blue Dog to date, as they managed to film nearly every single student in the whole school.

As the year progressed I noticed certain Blue Dog members were really starting to find their voice in the newspaper. Students learned that they had a real love for making iMovies, while other students became real pros with a DSLR camera. Photography majors and those with video experience showed others how to improve their work, while strong writers helped classmates write  great stories.

Blue Dog Press became a real team after the success of the Gangnam style video, but there was a lot of pressure to keep Blue Dog an exciting newspaper for anyone interested in Langley Fine Arts. We brainstormed ideas and began “fashionistas of the week,” a weekly post covering the fashion of the students in the school.  Soon after the team created “self posts” where members of Blue Dog got a chance to write about their typical week at LFAS. Others created an advice column, while one student began posting “photos of the month.”

By the end of the year, the team had created almost 200 posts for a total of 278 posts and just over 100, 000 views,  Blue Dog Press was really beginning to capture the scope and spirit of LFAS.

I feel very lucky to have been a part of such an amazing experience and to have been a part of documenting many of the amazing stories and events in the school. I loved editing stories and making movies over the year chronicling some of my favourite moments at LFAS. I want to thank my wonderful team for always stepping up to cover stories when I needed them to be covered, and for showing so much dedication. I would also like to thank Ms Knittel, the lady that inspired us all to be on top of every event and spent countless hours reading every single story posted, as well as contributing all her time to make sure the newspaper kept running. I would also like to thank all of the builders and technicians in the creation of “Studio 13.” Without you, we would not have an incredible space that is sure to create wonders next year.

And just a message to the future Chief Editor. Be organized and know the LFAS calendar like the back of your hand. Be very observant when proof reading, and above all love LFAS and everything it has to offer, as much as I have done.

Best of luck to the all of the grads of 2013, Mr Bryson in his retirement, and the future leaders of Blue Dog Press.

I resign my post as Chief Editor.  I will certainly be taking the skills I have learned this year in Blue Dog Press to Simon Fraser University this September.

Sincerely,

Ashley Fraser 

Chief Editor, LFAS Grad of 2013
145-547-832_c7w7_272

, , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

